Leadership & Staff

The Kenan Institute is part of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School and draws on the school’s administrative and faculty resources. It offers a number of programs conferences and seminars which bring together the business and academic communities at both the state and national levels.

The institute works in conjunction with affiliated centers to provide an ongoing forum for information and interaction between business and academia. The institute involves scholars and executives from across the nation who, having increased their mutual understanding, can work effectively together for the good of the free enterprise system.


Senior Leadership

Greg Brown

Director
Gregory_Brown@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.9250

In addition to his leadership as director of the institute, Greg is also the founder and research director of the Institute for Private Capital, an institute-affiliated research center. More

Mark Little

Executive Director
Mark_Little@unc.edu • 919.962.1041

Mark serves as executive director and is also the permanent director of NCGrowth, an affiliated research center. More

MacKenzie Babb

Director of External Affairs
MacKenzie_Babb@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.6021

MacKenzie leads marketing and communications efforts for the institute, including strategic planning, events, media relations and branding. More

David Knowles

Director of Business Development and Finance
David_Knowles@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.7304

David works to develop partnerships with companies and foundations aligned with the institute’s mission and those of its affiliated research centers. More

Christian Lundblad

Director of Research Richard ‘Dick’ Levin Distinguished Professor of Finance and Associate Dean of the PhD Program, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Christian_Lundblad@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.8441

Christian serves as director of research for the institute as well as director of the Center for Excellence in Investment Management and associate dean of the Ph.D. program at UNC’s Kenan-Flagler Business School. More

Core Initiatives Leaders

Chris Bingham

Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship, Phillip Hettleman Distinguished Scholar and Area Chair of Strategy and Entrepreneurship, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Chris_Bingham@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.7028

Chris’ research focuses on organizational learning, adaptation, growth, innovation and strategic decision-making in entrepreneurial firms and firms in dynamic markets. More

Larry Chavis

Clinical Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Larry_Chavis@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.8215

Larry researches how weak institutions in developing countries pose challenges for new business formation. More

Maryann P. Feldman

S.K. Heninger Distinguished Professor of Public Policy, UNC College of Arts & Sciences
Professor of Finance, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Maryann.Feldman@unc.edu • 919.962.0649

Maryann teaches in the UNC Department of Public Policy and at the UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School. More

Noel Greis

Director, Center Digital Enterprise and Innovation at UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Noel_Greis@unc.edu • 919.962.2133

Noel is an expert in global logistics and supply chain management and has won numerous awards for her research on logistics, global operations strategy, technology management and technology commercialization. More

Jim Johnson

Director, Education, Aging and Economic Development Initiatives
Director, Urban Investment Strategies Center
William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Jim_Johnson@unc.edu • 919.962.2214

Jim examines the growing inequality in American society, particularly as it affects disadvantaged youth; entrepreneurial approaches to poverty alleviation, job creation and community development; interethnic minority conflict in advanced industrial societies; and business demography and workforce diversity issues. More

Jayashankar M. Swaminathan

GlaxoSmithKline Distinguished Professor of Operations, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Jay_Swaminathan@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.8341

Jay is an internationally recognized thought leader in innovations and productivity improvements related to global operations and supply chain management who has held multiple leadership positions at UNC’s Kenan-Flagler Business School. More

Ted Zoller

Director, Center for Entrepreneurial Studies
T.W. Lewis Clinical Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Ted_Zoller@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.3103

Ted’s research focuses on the role and structure of entrepreneurial networks and the interrelationships within investor syndicates. More

Staff

Kim Allen

Kenan Scholars Program Director
Kim_Allen@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.3317

Kim heads up the institute’s signature scholarship program, which provides a world-class, transformative scholarship experience for undergraduate and graduate students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School. More

Ashley Brown

Research Manager
Ashley_Brown@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.1432

Ashley oversees the logistics of institute-sponsored, faculty-led research projects on entrepreneurship, economic development and global commerce. More

Sue DiMaggio

Marketing and Communications Associate
Sue_DiMaggio@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.8853

Sue provides marketing and communications support for the institute, including press releases, blog posts, videos and copyediting. More

Patrick G. Hartley

Professor of the Practice of Finance, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Patrick_Hartley@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.6821

In addition to his work with the institute and UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School, Pat is a member of one of the world’s leading financial services firms, working with institutional and private clients as an investment consultant and financial advisor. More

Philip Howard

Senior Research Associate
Philip_Howard@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.6821

Philip guides quantitative research efforts for the institute. More

Lingmei Howell

Director of Outreach
Lingmei_Howell@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.2686

Lingmei serves as the institute’s ambassador, marketer and value-proposition translator, spearheading numerous engagement programs and marketing/outreach activities to reinforce collaborative relationships with institute stakeholders. More

Emily Hull

Digital Marketing Associate
Emily_Hull@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.8841

Emily heads up the institute’s social media efforts, building out the institute’s social media presence and developing follower relationships.   More

Huan Lian

Data Analyst
Huan_Lian@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.5573

Huan provides data management and analysis support, including data cleaning and visualization and database implementation and maintenance for institute-affiliated centers and faculty. More

Samantha Locke

Senior Events Associate
Samantha_Locke@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.2286

Samantha assists the events manager in planning, organizing and executing events for the institute. More

Karen McFarland

Director of Operations
Karen_McFarland@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.4327

Karen provides administrative and departmental support and grant management to the institute. More

Rebecca Mormino

Events Manager
Rebecca_Mormino@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.6287

Rebecca oversees all conferences, symposia, and other events for the institute and its affiliated centers. More

Carly Newman-Matthews

Administrative Assistant
Carly_Newman-Matthews@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.6821

Carly assists with various administrative tasks, including conference room reservations, catering, staff travel coordination, expense reimbursements and more. More

Linda Parson

Grants Manager
Linda_Parson@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.5657

Linda Parson manages grants for the institute and UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School. More

Steven Rubin

Salesforce Administrator
Steven_Rubin@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.0337

Steve manages and maintains the institute’s customer relationship management system, allowing staff to connect with constituents with clarity and efficiency. More

Emily Schumacher

Events Associate
Emily_Schumacher@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.843.2325

Emily assists the events manager in planning, organizing and executing events for the institute, from awards ceremonies to conferences to presentations. More

Marion Strandh

Executive Assistant to the Director
Marion_Strandh@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.3174

Marion Strandh supports Kenan Institute Director Greg Brown. More

Torrance Todd

Web Developer
Torrance_Todd@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.5327

Torrance maintains and updates existing websites, develops web pages and print media layouts, while also offering desktop support for the institute. More

Jack Walker

Creative Director
Jack_Walker@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.2681

Jack oversees graphic design for all institute initiatives and also provides web and technology support. More

Melissa Waller

Director of Public & Private Partnerships
Melissa_Waller@kenan-flagler.unc.edu • 919.962.6821

Melissa is the institute's director of public & private partnerships. In this role, she works to develop partnerships with government entities, industry leaders and academic institutions aligned with the institute’s mission and those of its affiliated research centers. More